Areas of Concentration

Areas of Concentration

Christianity and Judaism in Antiquity (CJA)

The program in Christianity and Judaism in Antiquity (CJA) includes four disciplines: the Hebrew scriptures, Judaism, especially Second Temple and early Rabbinic Judaism, the New Testament and Greco-Roman world, other Christian sources to the early medieval period. Learn more >

History of Christianity (HC)

The History of Christianity Area covers the rich and diverse history of Christian theology from the patristic period until the nineteenth century.  Students specialize in two of the three historical periods that subdivide this area:  early, medieval, Reformation & modern.  Special strengths of the program in the History of Christianity include the interpretation of scripture prior to the modern period, spirituality, and doctrine and theological method from the early period through the Reformation. Learn more >

Liturgical Studies (LS)

The graduate program in liturgical studies exists to advance the study and understanding of the worship life of the Christian Church in its various traditions. The program is inspired by the conviction that liturgy is the key to the church's identity, ethos, and orientation toward God and world. The program integrates liturgical history, liturgical theology, and ritual studies. Learn more >

Moral Theology/Christian Ethics (MT)

Moral theology/Christian ethics is that branch of theological inquiry that studies in a systematic way the practical implications of God's revelatory intervention in Jesus Christ. It is concerned with the kind of people we ought to be and the kinds of actions we ought to perform or avoid. Learn more >

Systematic Theology (ST)

As “faith seeking understanding,” systematic theology explores the meaning, interrelatedness, and claims to truth of the Christian tradition's basic expressions of faith. The systematics faculty offers a series of seminars which focus on theological method, philosophical theology, and comparative theology, as well as the theological topics of trinity, Christology, ecclesiology, theological anthropology, eschatology, and Christian spirituality. Learn more >

World Religions and World Church (WRWC)

World Religions and World Church (WRWC) explores new ways of thinking about the study of world religions, cultural diversity in the Church, and the history of interactions between the Church and the religions of the world. It does so by considering the world's religions with specific attention to their own particular historical contexts and modes of theological discourse, and by studying the ways in which Christianity has become inculturated in contexts shaped largely by non-Christian religious traditions. Learn more >

Joint Programs

Peace Studies/Theology

In addition to the six major areas of concentration, the Department of Theology offers a Ph.D. in Theology and Peace Studies in partnership with Notre Dame’s Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies. 

The degree includes a course of integrated studies so that graduates are fully credentialed in both theology and interdisciplinary peace research. 

The requirements for the Ph.D. in Theology and Peace Studies include the following:  a minimum of 24 graded hours of credit in theology in one of the areas of concentration, and 18 graded hours in peace studies. Students will meet the theology department’s minimal language requirements of two modern research languages (typically French and German) and one classical language (Latin or Greek). 

For more information, or to apply to the Ph.D. program in Theology and Peace Studies, visit the Kroc Institute website.