2017 Award Recipients

The Cavanaugh Award

Img 8811

Img 8814



The Cavanaugh Award is given to the senior who has evidenced high qualities of personal character and academic excellence in theological studies. It was established in 1960 in honor of Father Joseph Cavanaugh, C.S.C., former head of the Department of Theology. This year the Cavanaugh Award goes to two students: Grace Agolia and Luke Donahue,

The Marti Award

Img 8816

The Gertrude Austin Marti Award in Theology is given to a graduating senior who has given evidence of qualities of personal character and academic achievement in theological studies.  This year the Marti Award to was given to Bridgid Smith.







The Spirit Award

Img 8818

As it did in 2016, the Collegiate Committee again voted to give a third award, The Spirit Award, to a student in recognition of that student’s work in promoting Theology as a field of study. Jacob Lindle, an Honors student and a former President of the Theology Club, is this year’s recipient of The Spirit Award.