2015 Award Recipients

Gertrude Austin Marti Award in Theology

hope_award_Marti Award winner Hope F. with Department Chair Matt Ashley




















The Gertrude Austin Marti Award in Theology is given to a graduating senior who has given evidence of qualities of personal character and academic achievement in theological studies. This year it goes to Hope F., with our congratulations. Hope graduates with a major in Theology, with Honors, and a minor in Philosophy. 

     Hope shares of her experience as a Theology major: “I would not trade studying Theology here as undergraduate for anything in the world. Studying Theology, and studying Theology with the Professors who teach here, has truly formed, shaped, and changed my life”


The Reverend Joseph H.Cavanaugh Award

patrick_awardCavanaugh Award winner Patrick Calderon with Department Chair Matt Ashley










The Cavanaugh Award is given to the senior who has evidenced high qualities of personal character and academic excellence in theological studies. It was established in 1960 in honor of Father Joseph Cavanaugh, C.S.C., former head of the Department of Theology. This year's award goes to Patrick Calderon, with our congratulations. Patrick graduates with majors in Theology and Political Science. 

    Patrick recalls a favorite moment as a Theology major“Last semester I was blessed to take a class with that legend of 20th-century theology, Father Gustavo Gutiérrez. I came up to him after class one day early in the semester and we had a short conversation in French—nothing too heavy. Still, I could not help but be taken by how utterly surreal it was that I was in a class with such an influential theologian, speaking with him in a language that I wasn’t able to speak before coming to Notre Dame. I think in that moment I was overwhelmed with gratitude as I realized just how much opportunity I’ve been given here at this school as a theology major.”